Take Action:

Call for Diplomacy in North Korea

The United States and North Korea are at a stand-off, and both countries have threatened to use nuclear weapons. Recent diplomatic progress gives us reason to hope, but with volatile leaders and a complex situation, things could change in a heartbeat. We need an assurance that this crisis will not re-escalate and turn into a military conflict. So far, our Senators have been silent on this issue, which is unacceptable. 

We are urging our Senators to support Senate Bill 2047, the Preventing Preemptive War in North Korea Act of 2017. This bill would prevent military action in North Korea without Congressional approval.  Without this measure, President Trump has the sole ability to launch a conventional or nuclear attack.

We're launching a state-wide grassroots campaign on this issue, and there are many ways to take action. You can find resources and guidelines by following these links: 

Information for calling or emailing your Senators and House Representatives is below. 

If you have any questions, please contact Lilly Adams at lilly@wpsr.org. 

To contact your House Representative, or if you would prefer to make a call or send an email to your Senators, you can find contact information and a tracking form below. 


Urge your House Representative to support HR 4837, the No Unconstitutional Strike Against North Korea Act. 

Note: Rep. Jayapal is already a co-sponsor for this bill. If she is your Representative, thank her for taking action! 

Sample Phone, Email, or Postcard Script:

Dear Senator: My name is [YOUR NAME], and I’m a constituent from [YOUR CITY]. I urge you to cosponsor H.R. 4837, the No Unconstitutional Strike Against North Korea Act. Military action in North Korea would be catastrophic and deadly— prevention of a nuclear exchange is the only sane solution to this crisis. I urge you to speak out publicly to insist on negotiations and diplomacy.  Thank you.


Take a moment to record your contacts to Congress, so we can track our impact! 


(for additional office contact information, click on the links below)



Senator Maria Cantwell; (206) 220-6400; EMAIL; 915 2nd Ave, Suite 3206, Seattle, WA 98174

Senator Patty Murray; (206) 553-5545; EMAIL; 915 2nd Avenue, Suite 2988, Seattle, WA 98174



Suszan DelBene, 1st District: (425) 485-0085; EMAIL; 22121 17th Ave SE, Bldg E, Suite 220, Bothell, WA 98021

Rick Larsen, 2nd District: (425) 252-3188; EMAIL; 2930 Wetmore Avenue, Suite 9F, Everett, WA 98201

Jaime Herrera Beutler, 3rd District: (360) 695-6292; EMAIL; 750 Anderston St, Suite B, Vancouver, WA 98661

Dan Newhouse, 4th District: (509) 452-3243; EMAIL; 402 E. Yakima Ave, Suite 445, Yakima, WA 98901

Cathy McMorris Rodgers, 5th District: (509) 353-2374; EMAIL; 10 N Post St, Suite 625, Spokane, WA 99201

Derek Kilmer, 6th District: (253) 272-3515; EMAIL; 950 Pacific Ave, Suite 1230, Tacoma, WA 98402

Pramila Jayapal, 7th District:  (206) 674-0040; EMAIL; 1904 3rd Ave, Suite 510, Seattle, WA 98101

Dave Reichert, 8th District: (425) 677-7414; EMAIL; 22605 SE 56th St, Suite 130, Issaquah, WA 98029

Adam Smith, 9th District: (425) 793-5180; EMAIL; 101 Evergreen Building, 15 S. Grady Way, Renton, WA 98057

Denny Heck, 10th District: (360) 459-8514; EMAIL; 420 College Street SE, Lacey, WA 98503